EnglishRussian

logo

TAVERTET VILLAGE AND ITS SURROUNDINGS, SPAIN

Tavertet

Tavertet village is situated in the Catalonian province, in the region of Guilleries mountains, about 900 meters above sea level. Lying above high cliff, far away from noisy resort towns, it seems separated from the rest of the world. Favorable neighborhood of surrounding nature enhances the unity of Tavertet’s architectural style; all (even new) structures, roads and sidewalks are made in traditional style, with natural materials — stone and wood. Megalithic tombs, funeral urns and Iberian walls testify to 5000-year history of the village. Tavertet’s places of interest are the stone houses built in XVII-XVIII centuries and the Roman church of Sant Cristofol; the ones add more charm to the cliff village: brighten it and make it more fascinating.


Tavertet

But, despite the beauty, coziness and pleasing view of Tavertet, the main goal of my trip was exploring rock massif near it. There is unusual rocky formation stretches out from the south-west edge of the village; it looks like plateau and consists of three “isles” joined together. Here is the overview of the terrain on Google Maps in 3D mode:



On the peak of the crag one can see the local centerpiece — the small hill that dominates the lonely farm and pastures border on it. Though it wasn’t too high, it turned out that climbing on it was a bit hard, as the hillsides were eroded and the rock was literally strewing beneath my feet.


Tavertet

But it was worth spending a time: there was a gorgeous overlook to picturesque landscape from above; I managed to shoot one panorama of the virtual tour from there. Other ones were shot from the southern hillside, just above the steep, where one can see the Ter river and the Sau reservoir.

EnglishRussian

logo

ДЕРЕВНЯ ТАВЕРТЕТ И ОКРЕСТНОСТИ, ИСПАНИЯ

Тавертет

В каталонской глубинке, в области горного массива Гильериес (Guilleries), на высоте около 900 метров над уровнем моря, находится деревня Тавертет (Tavertet). Расположенная над высоким отвесным обрывом, вдалеке от шумных курортных городов, она словно изолирована от окружающего мира. Органичное соседство деревни Тавертет с окружающей природой усиливает ее единый архитектурный стиль; все (даже новые) постройки, дороги и тротуары выполнены в традиционном стиле с использованием натуральных материалов – камня и дерева. Мегалитические гробницы, погребальные урны и иберийские стены свидетельствуют о 5000-летней истории этой деревни. Достопримечательностями Тавертета являются каменные дома XVII-XVIII веков и романская церковь Сант-Кристофол (Sant Cristofol), которые придают деревне в скалах еще больше красок и очарования.


Тавертет

Однако, несмотря на то, что деревня Тавертет очень красивая, уютная и ухоженная, все же главной целью моей поездки была прогулка по скальному массиву, находящемуся рядом. От юго-западной окраины деревни тянется необычное скальное образование, похожее на плато, состоящее как бы из трех соединенных «островов».


Вот так выглядит обзор местности на картах Google в режиме 3d:



На вершине утеса сразу приковывает внимание местная доминанта - небольшой холм, возвышающийся над одинокой фермой и прилегающими к ней пастбищами. Хоть он и невысок, взобраться на него оказалось не так легко — его склоны разрушены эрозией, и грунт буквально сыплется под ногами.


Тавертет

Но потраченные силы того стоили: сверху открывается великолепный вид на живописный ландшафт; одну панораму виртуального тура удалось снять и оттуда. Остальные панорамы сняты с южной стороны утеса, над самым обрывом, откуда можно увидеть реку Тер (Ter) и водохранилище Сау (Sau).